Spelt 101

Spelt is an ancient ancestor to wheat with a slight nutty flavor.

While spelt and wheat are related, they are different species (Triticum spelta and Triticum aestivum).

Spelt does contain gluten. However, the gluten in spelt behaves differently than that which is found in wheat. Many who are gluten-sensitive have noticed less sensitivity to spelt bread than regular wheat bread. It is not recommended for those with celiacs or gluten intolerance to consume spelt.

16473534_1428994677400008_2061263776558248467_nGive our new Spelt Bread a try! Now available at Nolts Country Store!

Advertisements

Ours Products at Nolts Country Store

Check out our new display at Nolt’s Country Store near the checkout counter!

Now available:

Sourdough Sandwich Loaf

Spelt Bread

“Nutty First Date” Granola Bars.

These products are delivered FRESH by noon on Monday, Wednesday and Friday!

img_20170110_074446Special thanks to:

Jeff Zehr for constructing this bread stand for us and

Elaine Nolts for supporting local businesses and promoting great products at her store!